Posted by: Emmett Fitz-Hume | October 23, 2009

Thought for food # 3


Space is all one space and thought is all one thought, but my mind divides its spaces into spaces into spaces and thoughts into thoughts into thoughts. Like a large condominium. Occasionally I think about the one Space and the one Thought, but usually I don’t. Usually I think about my condominium.
Andy Warhol, The Philosophy of Andy Warhol, 143

Truer words…

I’m always thinking about my condominium.  Why is it there?  What was I thinking when I bought that houndstooth ottoman?  Can I make flavored wallpaper like Willy Wonka?

So I left.  I went to a restaurant.  What are these “restaurants?”  They are ANCIENT IDEAS.  While there are examples of the concept going back to ancient China, Rome and Islam perhaps the most salient (quoted here from Wikipedia) is:

Restaurants became commonplace in France after the French Revolution broke up catering guilds and forced the aristocracy to flee, leaving a retinue of servants with the skills to cook excellent food; whilst at the same time numerous provincials arrived in Paris with no family to cook for them. Restaurants were the means by which these two could be brought together — and the French tradition of dining out was born.

WE MUST EVOLVE.  The restaurant (which here will remain nameless) was hopeless.  Antiquated techniques and serving styles.  Food concepts that had been done before.  Common riff-raff abounded.  Over-decorated.  Wasted food everywhere.

What if somebody created the anti-restaurant?  What if there were some kind of retail operation that sold food in bulk quantities, which could be mixed together at home using whatever technique the preparer desired to bring about maximum deliciousnessosity?

I think I have stumbled upon something brilliant, through my own brilliance.  I will call it… SUPERMARKET TO TABLE. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

Categories

